The Supreme Court of India and the High Courts in India have the exclusive power to issue writs under Article 32 & 226 of the Constitution of India respectively. The following are the types of Writs that are ensured by The Constitution of India

  • Writ of Habeas Corpus,
  • Writ of Quo Warranto,
  • Writ of Mandamus,
  • Writ of Certiorari and
  • Writ of Prohibition.   

These writs have been borrowed in India from England where they had a long history of development and consequently have gathered a number of technicalities. Power to issue writs is primarily a provision made to make available the Right to Constitutional Remedies to every citizen of India.   

To File A WRIT